Be More Productive With A Pomodoro

Usama Ali
2 min readDec 31, 2020

--

You must be wondering what is Pomodoro? What does it even mean . So lets start with it’s meaning Pomodoro is an Italian word which means tomato . Now you may be thinking what is the relation between tomato and productivity , So without moving further let’s directly jump into the technique .

What is Pomodoro technique :

The Pomodoro Technique was developed in the late 1980s by then university student Francesco Cirillo. Cirillo was struggling to focus on his studies and complete assignments. Feeling overwhelmed, he asked himself to commit to just 10 minutes of focused study time. Encouraged by the challenge, he found a tomato (pomodoro in Italian) shaped kitchen timer, and the Pomodoro technique was invented.

Steps:

There are simply 5 steps for this technique :

  1. Get a to-do list and a timer.
  2. Set your timer for 25 minutes, and focus on a single task until the timer rings.
  3. When your session ends, mark off one pomodoro and record what you completed.
  4. Then enjoy a five-minute break.
  5. After four pomodoros, take a longer, more restorative 15–30 minute break.

My Own Experience :

So I thought of trying this technique and firstly I decided a task which was covering my university’s lectures and let me tell you without using this technique it would have approximately taken more than 3 hours because of distractions and procrastination. But I managed to get it done just after the 4th alarm rang , then finally I gave myself a treat of watching the highlights of cricket match .

Conclusion:

I think the reason this technique is very effective in increasing the productivity is because it helps our mind to be mindful rather than mind full. I highly recommend you all to give it a try once and be more productive .

“Mindfulness isn’t difficult , we just need to remember to do it ”_Sharon Salzberg

--

--